BlogIn the LoopNews

Qualifying Ends With Most Local Candidates Unopposed


Deputy Tax Commissioner Toni Meadow has drawn a familiar challenger in the open Clarke County tax commissioner’s race.

Dave Hudgins, a lawyer and Athens-Clarke County planning commissioner who has run for ACC Commission twice, qualified to run for the office late Thursday. It’s a position that traditionally has been handed down—the current tax commissioner, Mitch Schrader, who’s not running for re-election for health reasons, was Nancy Denson’s top deputy when she stepped down to run for mayor in 2010, and he ran unopposed that year and in 2012.

Both candidates are running as Democrats in the May 24 primary. There is no Republican opposition.

The qualifying period, which ended at noon, was relatively quiet. State Sens. Bill Cowsert (R-Athens) and Frank Ginn (R-Danielsville) will both face primary challenges, and so will U.S. Rep. Doug Collins (R-Gainesville), who represents a sliver of northern Clarke County. Among the five Republican challengers is former Athens congressman Paul Broun. An independent, Pamela Lohr Hendrix, has filed paperwork declaring her intention to gather signatures to get on the ballot against state Rep. Chuck Williams (R-Watkinsville).

But state Reps. Spencer Frye (D-Athens) and Regina Quick (R-Athens) have no opposition, nor does U.S. Rep. Jody Hice (R-Social Circle), who represents most of Athens.

None of the incumbent ACC commissioners or Board of Education members are opposed. Surprisingly, given the uproar over the school district’s handling of a recent sexual assault at Cedar Shoals High School, the only contested BOE race is for the open District 8 seat. That nonpartisan race will also be decided May 24.

Locally, District Attorney Ken Mauldin is unopposed, which also is somewhat surprising after he failed to win a death penalty verdict in the high-profile Jamie Hood case. So are Sheriff Ira Edwards and other local courthouse officials.

Here’s a list of the candidates that will be on the ballot in Athens.

• Athens-Clarke County Commission District 2: incumbent Harry Sims.

• Commission District 4: incumbent Allison Wright.

• Commission District 6: incumbent Jerry NeSmith.

• Commission District 8: incumbent Andy Herod.

• Commission District 10: incumbent Mike Hamby.

• Clarke County Board of Education District 2: incumbent Vernon Payne.

• BOE District 4: Jared Bybee.

• BOE District 6: incumbent Charles Worthy.

• BOE District 8: John Knox, A. Kamau Hull.

• State Senate District 46: incumbent Bill Cowsert (R), Patricia Daugherty (R).

• State Senate District 47: incumbent Frank Ginn (R), Tyler Hollifield (R).

• State Representative District 117: incumbent Regina Quick (R).

• State Representative District 118: incumbent Spencer Frye (D).

• State Representative District 119: incumbent Chuck Williams (R), Pamela Lohr Hendrix (independent).

• Public Service Commission: incumbent Tim Echols (R), Michelle Miller (R), Kellie Austin (R).

• 9th Congressional District: incumbent Doug Collins (R), Roger Fitzpatrick (R), Paul Broun (R), Bernie Fontaine (R), Mike Scupin (R).

• 10th Congressional District: incumbent Jody Hice (R).

• U.S. Senate: incumbent Johnny Isakson (R), Derrick Grayson (R), James Knox (D), John F. Coyne (D), Cheryl Copeland (D), Jim Barksdale (D), Mary Kay Bacallao (R).

• Clarke County Sheriff: incumbent Ira Edwards (D).

• Western Circuit District Attorney: incumbent Ken Mauldin (D).

• Tax Commissioner:  Toni Meadow (D), Dave Hudgins (D).

• Coroner: incumbent Sonny Wilson (D).

• Superior Court Judge: incumbent Lawton Stephens.

• Superior Court Judge: incumbent Patrick Haggard.

• Chief Magistrate Judge: incumbent Patricia Barron.

• Clerk of Court: incumbent Beverly Logan (D).

• Probate Court Judge: incumbent Susan Tate.

• State Court Judge: incumbent Charles Auslander.


• State Court Judge: incumbent Ethelyn Simpson.