BlogIn the LoopNews

Athens for Everyone Grades Mayor and Commissioners

ACC Commissioner Mariah Parker.


Commissioner Mariah Parker.

The progressive political group Athens for Everyone gave high marks to Athens-Clarke County commissioners Tim Denson, Mariah Parker and Melissa Link in recently released report cards for the ACC mayor and commission.

According to the organization, the grades were based on how commissioners’ votes aligned with A4E’s positions, as well as subjective factors like “public statements, perception of priorities and stated stance on issues including the Linnentown Resolution.” The commission’s response to COVID-19, which A4E said has been “sound and humane, especially in contrast with decisions on the state level,” was not considered.

Mayor Kelly Girtz: B-

Patrick Davenport: B

Parker: A

Link: A-

Allison Wright: D

Denson: A

Jerry NeSmith: D

Russell Edwards: B-

Andy Herod: D

Ovita Thornton: B

Mike Hamby: C-

For more information on the rationale behind the grades, click here.