BlogIn the LoopNews

Former State Rep. Bob Smith Challenges Dave Shearon for Watkinsville Mayor

Watkinsville alone among Oconee County’s four cities will hold an election this fall, with two candidates competing for the mayor of the city and two more competing for Post 2 on the city council.

Incumbent Watkinsville Mayor Dave Shearon and Bob Smith, a real estate agent and former state representative, filed paperwork last week qualifying for the mayoral contest.

Incumbent Post 2 council member Connie Massey and Jonathan Kirkpatrick, a retired federal government employee, qualified for the Post 2 position.

Incumbent Watkinsville Post 1 council member Brian Brodrick also qualified, but he will have no opposition on the ballot in November.

Bogart council members Brenda Acton and John Larkin qualified for their seats on council, but no one qualified to run against them. Janet Jones, currently a member of council, qualified for mayor, without opposition.

In North High Shoals, incumbent Mayor Toby Bradberry qualified without opposition, and incumbent council member Eric Carlson qualified for Post 1 as the sole candidate.

Hilda Kurtz, a professor at the University of Georgia, qualified for council Post 4, which currently is vacant and has two years remaining on the term. No one else qualified. No one qualified for Post 2, currently held by Jason Presley.

The terms of Bishop’s mayor and council members do not expire for another two years.

For more, visit Oconee County Observations.