BlogIn the LoopNews

UGA Names Four Finalists for Provost

A University of Georgia search committee has announced four finalists for the position of senior vice president for academic affairs and provost, the No. 2 position at UGA.

The finalists are Jack Hu, vice president for research at the University of Michigan; Beate Schmittmann, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University; Rahul Shrivastav, vice president for instruction at UGA; and Elizabeth Spiller, dean of the College of Letters and Science at the University of California, Davis.

Shrivastav will give a public presentation Tuesday, Schmittman on Thursday, Hu on Monday, Feb. 11 and Spiller on Wednesday, Feb. 13. All four are from 9:30–10:30 a.m. at the Chapel.

Libby Morris, director of UGA’s Institute of Higher Education, has been serving as interim provost since Pamela Whitten left to become president of Kennesaw State University in June, following Sam Olens’ resignation after he bowed to political pressure to punish cheerleaders who protested racial inequality.

The 24-member search committee is led by Ben Ayers, dean of the Terry College of Business, and Denise Spangler, dean of the College of Education.

The chief academic officer at UGA, the senior vice president for academics and provost oversees instruction, research, public service and outreach, student affairs and information technology. Five vice presidents, 18 deans and several other high-ranking administrators report to the provost.