BlogIn the LoopNews

Athens Reps Split on Plastic Bag Ban Ban

Rep. Chuck Williams (R-Watkinsville) was the only one of three Athens legislators to vote in favor of SB 139 on Friday.

Clarke and Oconee counties’ three members of the Georgia House of Representatives cast opposing votes again Friday, this time on plastic bags.

Rep. Regina Quick (R-Athens) voted with the House majority in turning down Senate Bill 139, which would have prohibited local communities from adopting ordinances to restrict use of plastic bags, boxes, foam cups and other related “one-time use” products.

Rep. Chuck Williams (R-Watkinsville) voted for the bill.

The Senate had passed the “auxiliary containers” bill by a 32-19 vote on Feb. 26, with Sens. Bill Cowsert (R-Athens) and Frank Ginn (R-Danielsville) voting with the majority.

The House vote yesterday was 67 in favor and 85 against, with some Republicans joining Democrats in opposition. Quick and Williams are Republicans, as is Cowsert.

Spencer Frye, Athens-Clarke County’s third House member and a Democrat, also voted against SB 139.

For more, visit Oconee County Observations.