Flagpole Premieres! The New Sound of Numbers: ‘Complete’

Local post-punk/dance crew The New Sound of Numbers has been working on its new LP Invisible Magnetic for the better part of this year; back in March, we gave you a taste of the title track. Now, finally, the album is prepped for mass consumption, and the group will celebrate with a release show at Flicker Theatre & Bar tonight.

Today, Flagpole is beyond excited to premiere an exclusive new tune from the record, which is out on local imprint Cloud Recordings. Below, stream “Complete,” a joyous, psychedelic dance workout and Invisible Magnetic‘s second track.

Says the band:

The album will initially be available at the album release party at Flicker Bar this Friday, Sept. 20th, and subsequently at Wuxtry Records. The format of the release is 500 limited-edition blue vinyl with download code included inside. A random five of the 500 records will contain an original drawing by Hannah Jones.


  • AthFest is Canceled This Year as Coronavirus Spreads

    As the coronavirus continues to spread illness and unease throughout Georgia and the U.S., Athens suffers a significant cultural and economic blow as organizers have announced the cancellation of...
  • Five Acts to See at Ad·Verse Fest

    With an eclectic approach that mines the space between music, visual and performance art, Ad·verse Fest features an exciting, queer-centric lineup of scrappy newcomers and more road-tested acts, many...
  • Shane Parish & Sean Dail

    With the innovative North Carolina band Ahleuchatistas, guitarist Shane Parish pushed the boundaries of the early-’00s math-rock scene by incorporating international influences, as well as a healthy dose of...
  • Ruston Kelly, Valley Queen

    Specializing in a twangy, earnest brand of Americana he famously dubbed “dirt emo” in 2018, singer-songwriter Ruston Kelly made good on the term’s promise last year with the release...