City DopeFeaturedNews

At Least Four Democrats Will Seek Athens Congressional Seat

Jessica Fore of Athens is one of four Democrats running in the 10th Congressional District. Photo via Facebook

Three more Democrats have signed up to run in the heavily conservative 10th Congressional District, which includes Athens and the surrounding red suburban and rural counties.

The Democratic candidates who added their names to the ballot Thursday, the second-to-last day of the qualifying period, include Sandersville nurse Tabitha Johnson-Green, the party nominee in 2018 and 2020; Hull Mayor Paul Walton; and Jessica Allison Fore, a Realtor and church worship leader from Athens. Eight Republicans are also seeking the safe GOP seat.

In local races, store manager Asia J. Thomas qualified to run in Commission District 3. District 3 school board incumbent Linda Davis will run for re-election. And workforce development manager James Alexander qualified to run for the District 1 BOE seat.

In state races, Democrat Jeff Auerbach will challenge state Rep. Marcus Wiedower (R-Watkinsville), and state Rep. Spencer Frye (D-Athens) qualified to run for a sixth term.

Here’s a recap of who has qualified to run for local offices thus far:

Athens-Clarke County Mayor: Kelly Girtz*, Pearl Hall, Fred Moorman, Mykeisha R. Ross, Mara Zuniga

Commissioner District 1: Patrick Davenport*, Audrey Hughes

Commission District 3: Tiffany S. Taylor, Robert Finch, Asia Thomas

Commission District 5: Jared Bailey, Dexter Fisher, Matt Pulver

Commission District 7: Allen Jones, John Culpepper

Commission District 9: Ovita Thornton*

BOE District 1: Heidi Hensley, James Alexander

BOE District 3: Linda Davis*

BOE District 5: Tim Denson

BOE District 7: LaKeisha Gantt*

BOE District 9: Elder Johnson IV, Mark Evans

Solicitor General: none

State Senate District 46: Bill Cowsert (R)*, Andrew Ferguson

State Senate District 47: Frank Ginn (R)*, Charlie Chase (R), Ross Harvin (R), Conolus Scott Jr. (D)

State House District 120: Houston Gaines (R)*, Mokah Jasmine Johnson (D)

State House District 121: Marcus Wiedower (R)*, Jeff Auerbach (D)

State House District 122: Spencer Frye (D)*

State House District 124: Trey Rhodes (R)*, Kat Howkins (D)

10th Congressional District: Timothy Barr (R), Paul Broun (R), Mike Collins (R), David Curry (R), Vernon Jones (R), Mark McMain (R), Mitchell Swann (R), Alan Sims (R), Phyllis Hatcher (D), Tabitha Johnson-Green (D), Paul Walton (D). Jessica Fore (D)