City DopeFeaturedNews

Oconee Voters Reject Transportation Tax; Brodrick Elected Watkinsville Mayor

Watkinsville Mayor Brian Brodrick.

Oconee County voters rejected a proposed 1% sales tax for transportation on Tuesday, while Brian Brodrick won a full term as mayor of Watkinsville.

The TSPLOST would have been the first in Oconee County and funded road repaving, intersection improvements and multi-use paths by raising the county’s sales tax from 7% to 8%. Passage would also have allowed the county to cut property taxes by 1 mill. With just 10.7% turnout, it failed with 1,714 voters opposed and 1,534 in favor.

Also in Oconee County, incumbent Watkinsville Mayor Brian Brodrick won a full two-year term over Rebecca Billings, 433 votes to 163. Long-time councilman Brodrick became mayor when Bob Smith, who endorsed Billings, resigned earlier this year, citing differences with the city council.

Incumbent Connie Massey also won re-election to the Watkinsville city council 438-138 over Carolyn Maultsby.

In North High Shoals, Meagan Cundiff defeated Jared Strickland 98 votes to 20.

Results of the Clarke County ESPLOST referendum are not yet available, although such measures generally pass overwhelmingly. Check back to for updates.