Letters to the EditorNews

Don’t Forget the Runoff on Aug. 11

Voters, did you know there is a runoff election happening in Athens-Clarke County on Aug. 11? Candidates from the Democratic and Republican parties in the 9th Congressional District are competing for spots on the November 2020 general election ballot. Democratic voters in the 9th District will choose between Devin Pandy and Brooke Siskin. Republican voters will cast a vote for either Andrew Clyde or Matt Gurtler.

The 9th District encompasses parts or all of 20 northeastern Georgia counties, including northern Clarke County. Because of this, the runoff election only affects residents who vote in three of our county’s precincts: 2A (J.J. Harris Elementary), 5D (Athens-Clarke County Fleet Management Building) and 1A (Winterville Train Depot). If a voter is unsure if they are part of the 9th District, contact our office at 706-613-3150, or visit online.

As a registered voter living in the 9th District, residents are eligible to cast a ballot in this primary runoff election at their precinct on Election Day or during early voting, which began on July 20. Voters who cast a ballot in the primary must vote the same party ballot in the runoff. For a voter who cast a nonpartisan ballot in the June primary, either party’s ballot may be chosen during the runoff election. If a person did not vote in June, then they may also choose either party’s ballot for the runoff.

There is still time to request an absentee ballot for the Aug. 11 Primary Runoff election. You do not need a reason to request an absentee by mail ballot. Anyone may vote this way. Voting by mail is encouraged during the pandemic to reduce the spread of COVID-19. Please contact our office at 706-613-3150 to request an application for the absentee ballot or online at The application deadline is Aug. 7.

If a voter eligible to vote in the Aug. 11 primary runoff chooses to vote in person, early voting is being held at the Board of Elections Office, 155 E. Washington Street, through Friday, Aug. 7 from 8 a.m.–5 p.m., except on Aug. 5 until 7pm. An additional early voting site is open at Miriam Moore Community Center, 420 McKinley Drive, from 10 a.m.–7 p.m. on Aug. 5 and 10 a.m.–5 p.m. on Aug. 6 and 7. Precautions against the pandemic are being strictly followed at the in-person voting locations.

Our staff gladly serves the voters of Athens-Clarke County. Please feel free to contact us about the upcoming primary runoff election on Aug. 11, 2020. We enjoy talking about elections and solving your voting related issues.

McGlaun is an elections assistant at the ACC Board of Elections and Voter Registration.