BlogIn the LoopNews

CCSD Announces Staff Shakeup

The Clarke County School District has leadership vacancies at six schools to fill after moving several principals to the central office.

The district announced the moves late Friday, a day after the Board of Education met in closed session to discuss personnel.

According to Director of Public Relations and Communications Mary Walsh Wickwire:

• Gaines Elementary Principal Robert Ezekiel has been appointed director of assessment for the district. Whitehead Road Elementary Principal Luther McDaniel is transferring to Gaines.

• Barnett Shoals Elementary Principal Jennifer Scott will become the executive director of innovation and strategy.

• Anita Lumpkin-Barnett, the principal at Alps Road Elementary, will become the district’s science curriculum coordinator.

• Hilsman Middle School Principal Utevia Tolbert will take on the role of special education coordinator of elementary behavior supports, a new position that will support the Compass program at Winterville and Cleveland Road elementary schools, as well as the RISE classroom at Gaines.

In addition, last month Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary Principal Scarlett Dunne announced her retirement at the end of the school year, and Anissa Johnson, principal of Fowler Drive Elementary, has submitted her resignation effective Apr. 22 to take a position in Henry County.

That means Superintendent Demond Means, with input from local school governance teams and approval from the school board, will have to hire new principals at Oglethorpe Avenue, Fowler Drive, Whitehead Road, Alps Road, Barnett Shoals and Hilsman.