BlogIn the LoopNews

Monday Qualifying: Broun, Deal, Denson, More

Qualifying for the May 20 and Nov. 4 elections started Monday morning. Here’s a look at who’s on the Athens ballot so far.

ACC Mayor

Nancy Denson*

Commission District 3

Rachel Watkins

Melissa Link

Commission District 5

Dave Hudgins

Commission District 9

Kelly Girtz*

Board of Education District 3

Linda Davis*

BOE District 7

Carol S. Williams*

BOE District 9

Ovita Thornton*

Solicitor General

C.R. Chisholm*


Nathan Deal (R)*

Lieutenant governor

Connie Stokes (D)

Insurance commissioner

Liz Johnson (D)

Keith Heard (D)

Agriculture commissioner

Gary Black (R)*

Labor commissioner

Mark Butler (R)*

Robbin Shipp (D)

State school superintendent

Allen Fort (R)

T. Fitz Johnson (R)

State representative, District 117

Regina Quick (R)*

State representative, District 118

Spencer Frye (D)*

State representative, District 119

Chuck William (R)*

State senator, District 46

Bill Cowsert (R)*

State senator, District 47

Frank Ginn (R)*

U.S. House, District 9

Doug Collins (R)*

U.S. House, District 10

Donna Sheldon (R)

Gary Gerrard (R)

U.S. Senate

Jack Kingston (R)

Phil Gingrey (R)

Karen Handel (R)

Paul Broun (R)

Branko Radulovacki (D)

Todd Robinson (D)


“R” indicates that a candidate is Republican and “D” a Democrat. Candidates with no letter by their names are nonpartisan.

Interested in other races? Look them up at the Georgia Secretary of State’s pretty but barely functional new website.

Qualifying runs through noon Friday. Check back every afternoon for updates.