Record Reviews

Drew Beskin: Problematic for the People Album Premiere

Drew Beskin: Problematic for the People (Super Canoe, July 2) Originally envisioning Problematic for the People to be his final solo album—a retirement he has since postponed—Drew Beskin took care in crafting a collection of songs that approach pop-rock from a variety of angles. For his third release, Beskin—who has appeared as the frontman of The District Attorneys, Party Dolls and PURSES in past years—is backed by Phillip Brantley (Palace Doctor) on bass, Josh Parsons (Cowboy Curtys) on guitar and Jeremy Wheatley (Sailors & Ships) on drums, plus a handful of guest appearances. Recorded between Chase Park Transductions and Gift Horse Studios, this 11-track album is anchored by strong hooks. Padded with keyboard, piano, bongos, violin and group vocals, “Personal Shopper” emulates the carefree, breezy personality of ‘60s pop. “Going Alright For You,” meanwhile, is a driving, Petty-esque melody that skips to the ‘80s with a crunchier tone, handclaps and synthesizer. The majority of tracks, however—“Torn & Blue,” “Genuine Article,” “More Bad Days Than Good,” “Double Dipper”—are perennial in nature and should stand the test of time by carrying forward the best elements of pop-rock from the past half-century. Catch a double album release show for both Beskin and A.D. Blanco at Southern Brewing Company on July 9.

And below, check out new videos for “Going Alright For You” and “Personal Shopper,” a two-part release featuring appearances by Drew Vandenberg, Annie Leeth, Sienna Chandler, Matt Martin, Tommy Trautwein, Elijah Johnston and Jay Gulley.