Nominations for Vic Chesnutt Songwriter of the Year Award Open Until Mar. 31

As Flagpole‘s Gordon Lamb noted a few weeks back, nominations for the second annual Vic Chesnutt Songwriter of the Year Award are currently open. 

To be eligible for the award, songwriters must live in Athens or surrounding counties and have released the submitted song in 2017. Nominations may be made until Mar. 31, after which a panel of music-industry judges will narrow the list down to five finalists.

To nominate yourself or another local songwriter, visit this link

Last year’s inaugural award went to Andrew Huang of local band Mosaic, with the other finalists being Drew Albenesius, Dana Downs, Erin Lovett and Sarah Zúñiga. The winner of this year’s honor will receive a generous prize package, including $1,000 in cash, studio time and more goodies.

This year’s award ceremony will take place at The Foundry on Thursday, May 17. More information about the award, which is presented by Classic City Rotary in memory of local folk-music legend Chesnutt, can be found on the Rotary’s website.


  • AthFest is Canceled This Year as Coronavirus Spreads

    As the coronavirus continues to spread illness and unease throughout Georgia and the U.S., Athens suffers a significant cultural and economic blow as organizers have announced the cancellation of...
  • Five Acts to See at Ad·Verse Fest

    With an eclectic approach that mines the space between music, visual and performance art, Ad·verse Fest features an exciting, queer-centric lineup of scrappy newcomers and more road-tested acts, many...
  • Shane Parish & Sean Dail

    With the innovative North Carolina band Ahleuchatistas, guitarist Shane Parish pushed the boundaries of the early-’00s math-rock scene by incorporating international influences, as well as a healthy dose of...
  • Ruston Kelly, Valley Queen

    Specializing in a twangy, earnest brand of Americana he famously dubbed “dirt emo” in 2018, singer-songwriter Ruston Kelly made good on the term’s promise last year with the release...