City DopeFeaturedNews

ACC Democrats Announce Endorsements in Local Athens Races

Mayor Kelly Girtz. Credit: Chris Scredon

Yes, they’re technically nonpartisan, but when it comes to Athens-Clarke County Mayor and Commission races, many voters want to know, which candidates are Democrats?

The ACC Democratic Committee is attempting to answer that question by endorsing candidates in mayor, commission and school board races. Endorsements announced Tuesday include Kelly Girtz for mayor, Patrick Davenport in Commission District 1, Tiffany Taylor in Commission District 3, Allen Jones in Commission District 7, James Alexander in the school board’s District 1 and Tim Denson in BOE District 5.

The ACCDC labeled Dexter Fisher and Matt Pulver “Democrats in good standing” in the Commission District 5 race, excluding Jared Bailey. Likewise, both BOE District 9 candidates, Mark Evans and Elder Johnson IV, were declared “Democrats in good standing.”

Endorsed candidates received at least two-thirds of the vote at an ACCDC meeting Apr. 28, based on questionnaire answers, responses to the 2022 platform, voting records and past support of Democratic candidates and policies.

In addition, Georgia Equality announced Tuesday that it has endorsed Pulver. The LGBTQ organization previously announced its support of Jones.