City DopeFeaturedNewsUncategorized

Robert Finch, Matt Pulver Join ACC Commission Races

District 5 commission candidate Matt Pulver.

Hospital executive and pastor Robert Finch joined the race for Athens-Clarke County Commission District 3 on Wednesday, the third day of the week-long qualifying period. And a third candidate, writer and progressive activist Matthew Pulver, is running for Commission District 5.

Both seats are open because incumbents Melissa Link and Tim Denson were drawn out of their districts by Republicans. District 3 shifted halfway across town, from the Boulevard/Cobbham area to a portion of East Athens and Winterville.

Two more candidates are also running against state Sen. Frank Ginn (D-Athens): Republican Ross Harvin of Commerce, a land surveyor, and Democrat Conolus Scott Jr., a retiree from Danielsville. Meanwhile, Democrat Andrew Ferguson will challenge Sen. Bill Cowsert (R-Athens). Ferguson ran for Congress in the 10th District two years ago but lost in the primary.

Here’s a recap of who has qualified to run for local offices thus far:

Athens-Clarke County Mayor: Kelly Girtz*, Pearl Hall, Fred Moorman, Mykeisha R. Ross, Mara Zuniga

Commissioner District 1: Patrick Davenport*, Audrey Hughes

Commission District 3: Tiffany S. Taylor, Robert Finch

Commission District 5: Jared Bailey, Dexter Fisher, Matt Pulver

Commission District 7: Allen Jones, John Culpepper

Commission District 9: Ovita Thornton*

BOE District 1: Heidi Hensley

BOE District 3: none

BOE District 5: Tim Denson

BOE District 7: LaKeisha Gantt*

BOE District 9: Elder Johnson IV, Mark Evans

Solicitor General: none

State Senate District 46: Bill Cowsert (R)*, Andrew Ferguson

State Senate District 47: Frank Ginn (R)*, Charlie Chase (R), Ross Harvin (R), Conolus Scott Jr. (D)

State House District 120: Houston Gaines (R)*, Mokah Jasmine Johnson (D)

State House District 121: Marcus Wiedower (R)*

State House District 122: none

State House District 124: Trey Rhodes (R)*, Kat Howkins (D)

10th Congressional District: Timothy Barr (R), Paul Broun (R), Mike Collins (R), David Curry (R), Vernon Jones (R), Mark McMain (R), Mitchell Swann (R), Phyllis Hatcher (D), Alan Sims (R)