Blog Topic: Flagpole Premieres

  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Boy (feat. Members of Waitress, Nurture): 'Art Donut'


    Photo Credit: Asa Ferqueron

    Get in on the ground floor with Boy, a brand new Athens-based punk duo featuring guitarist/bassist/vocalist Dionnet Bhatti (Nurture) and drummer Scott Chalfant (Waitress).

    The band's first single, "Art Donut," which Flagpole is happy to premiere today, is a lean, aggressive slice of noise-rock that should please fans of similar slash-and-burn groups like Unwound and Pissed Jeans.

    Check out "Art Donut":


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Fake Flowers, 'Don't Cry, Kiddo'

    fake flowers-1.jpg

    Athens/Atlanta dream-pop trio Fake Flowers (full disclosure: Andy Barton, the band's drummer, is an occasional Flagpole contributor) have tooled around the scene for some time, releasing the five-song Opaque Pop EP last summer, a slick set of jangly, melodic tunes that referenced Kevin Shields, Teenage Fanclub and The Feelies in equal measure. 


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Slow Parade, 'Stink I'm In'

    slow parade.jpg

    New Athens/Atlanta-based rock trio Slow Parade features members of local moodsmiths Cicada Rhythm and Grand Vapids, and the music on the group's upcoming debut album, Big Plans, feels at times like a cross between the former's sepia-toned folk and the latter's slowcore shuffle.

    But the kicker comes in the form of guitarist Matthew Pendrick, a former street busker and frontman of roots rockers Midnight Revival, whose insistent, twangy yowl anchors the band's free-floating instrumentation. 

    Today Flagpole is pleased to premiere the first single from Big Plans, set for release this spring.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Cult Fluorescent, 'Fiel'd' Video

    cult fluorescent.jpg

    Songwriter Brad DeMatteo, who writes and records lovely minimalist pop tunes as Cult Fluorescent, is in the midst of a move from Massachusetts to the Classic City. "I'm basically moving to Athens for a change of scenery," he tells Flagpole. "It might sound too simple, but that's the truth. I want to put myself and my music in a new environment." 

    To help welcome DeMatteo to town, we're pleased to premiere a brand new video for "Fiel'd," the airy last track from Cult Fluorescent's recent full-length, I Had No Patience: No Patience.

    Stream the video, directed by Michael Bucuzzo of experimental film collective SurreaLux, below:


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Tunabunny, 'Airless Spaces' Video


    Eccentric and prolific local rock group Tunabunny is reportedly prepping yet another new LP, titled PCP Presents Alice in Wonderland Jr., the follow-up to March's weird and lovely Kingdom Technology. But while they're at it, they're still churning out visual accompaniments to tracks from the last release.

    Today, we're happy to premiere one such project, the video for Kingdom Technology's ethereal opening track, "Airless Spaces." The clip, which features a first-person journey through a strip mall, is as formless and yet arresting as the band's music.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Powerkompany, 'Mermaid (Sunlight)' Video

    pk wall.jpg

    Local hubby-and-wife electro-pop duo Powerkompany haven't released a proper album since dropping the bold and moody I Am More Than This in May 2013, but that doesn't mean the pair haven't stayed busy touring, writing, recording and, most recently, making music videos.

    This summer, they released a lovely clip for I Am More Than This' "Lost," and today Flagpole is happy to premiere the comparatively creepy video (Halloween, y'all!) for that record's closer, "Mermaid (Sunlight)".


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Scooterbabe, 'Know That I Don't Want You'


    Photo Credit: Anna Pence

    Though it has played steadily around town for the last couple years and gained a respectable local fanbase in the process, indie-pop trio Scooterbabe has but one EP to its name, a self-titled, five-track effort released last November.

    Now, the band is set to drop the follow-up, again in EP form. The new one is (yes, that is the name of the damn thing) and is out Oct. 28 digitally and in the near future on cassette via Pizza Tomb.

    The four-song record finds the band honing the C86-inspired sound it has put forth since the beginning. For fans of noisy, navel-gazing jangle-pop, it's a must-listen. Flagpole's Gordon Lamb is blunt in his assessment: "No one in Athens has played well-crafted, distortion-free pop of this type and caliber in a very long time."

    More below.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Hand Sand Hands, 'Pores' Video

    good luck cover.jpg

    We've been fans of local experimental rhythmsmith Jonathan Miller and his Hand Sand Hands project since Miller emigrated from the Twin Cities to Athens in 2012. Attendees at this summer's Flagpole Athens Music Awards got a taste of HSH's upcoming album, Good Luck With That, which now has a release date: Nov. 11, when you can grab the album on cassette via Arrowhawk and digitally via Autumn + Colour.

    The album—there's the cover art above—features contributions from bassist Taylor Chmura and drummer Chase Merritt (both of Little Gold), who lend the music a live, full-band feel, though it loses none of HSH's sample-based strangeness.

    Below, check out a video for "Pores," the record's strong lead single, filmed by the increasingly in-demand Dominar, LTD.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Musickland, a Documentary About Rocker-Turned-Farmer Adam Musick


    Adam Musick

    Last February, we hipped you to an in-progress documentary called Musickland, centered on rocker-turned-hog-farmer Adam Musick, the former frontman of Athens rock band Southern Bitch. Now, Flagpole is thrilled to premiere the finished project, courtesy of student filmmakers Cameron Bargerstock and Jacob Rosdail. 

    The 34-minute film is an incisive portrait of a very particular internal battle. It captures Adam Musick and his wife and former bandmate Wendy as they live, work and contemplate the series of events that led them from the 40 Watt stage to a farm in rural Virginia. It also documents Adam's slow but steady—and still ongoing—return to music.

    Stream Musickland below:


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Mark Rogers & Mary Byrne, I Line My Days Along Your Weight

    Mark Rogers and Mary Byrne by Shervin Lainez 2.jpg

    Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez

    Mark Rogers and Mary Byrne call New York City home these days, but the pair cut their musical teeth in Georgia—Rogers with new-folk standouts Myssouri and Byrne with eclectic rockers Hot Young Priest. The album Rogers and Byrne have just crafted as a duo, I Line My Days Along Your Weight, should establish the pair as one of the most vital acts in folk music right now.

    Recorded in Brooklyn and set for release next Tuesday, Oct. 14 via ImportantI Line My Days Along Your Weight is a striking set of sparse, evocative tunes filled with rich instrumentation—"baritone acoustic, tricone resonator, golden-­era flat top, space-­age lap steel guitar, upright piano and hundred-­year-­old mandolin," per the press release—that is unassuming even as it devastates.


Page 8 of 11, showing 10 posts out of 103 total, starting on # 71, ending on 80