Blog Topic: Flagpole Premieres

  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! The New Sound of Numbers: 'New Dance' Video

    new sound of numbers.jpg

    Local psych-wave crew The New Sound of Numbers is still riding the crest of dance-punk-y joy set in motion with its 2013 album Invisible Magnetic, out on Cloud. Today, we're happy to premiere the music video for one of the record's standout tracks, the effervescent "New Dance."


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Semicircle: 'Underground River of Glass'


    Since 2010, Reptar drummer Andrew McFarland has operated on the side under the nameSemicircle, attaching the moniker to "any number of little projects and experiments I did," he says, before deciding to transform it into a sort of performance art project. Early on, McFarland brought a rotating cast of characters into the fold in hopes of maintaining a vibrant, if admittedly volatile, creative atmosphere.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Shehehe: 'Ghost Of' Video

    shehehe band photo.jpg

    Local power-punk outfit Shehehe has undergone a lineup shift since its debut, New American Jet Rock, was released in 2012. The additions of guitarist Adam Hebert and bassist Derek Wiggs have proven powerful ones: The band has only grown tighter and more furious in its rock and roll mission, and it plans to enter the studio soon to record the follow-up to the aforementioned album, which mixed low-budget arena-aping sensibilities with proto-punk passion.

    Today, we've got an exclusive look at the new video for "Ghost Of," a New American Jet Rocktrack centered lyrically on ghouls and goblins and everything in between. Appropriately, the clip offers a B-movie-esque take on the song's sordid subject matter.

    Watch the video after the jump.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! k i d s: 'were Next Door /III/'

    take forever.jpg

    Local psych-pop crew k i d s, the brainchild of songwriter K. Jared Collins, has been largely inactive for the past several months, but as it turns out, Collins and his rotating supporting cast have just been busy prepping a brand-new album—the looooong-awaited follow-up to last year's live LP are US—appropriately titled Take Forever. Peep the flowery cover art above. The record will be out digitally May 15, but the band is taking pre-orders now via Bandcamp.

    The cassette version of Take Forever costs $7; the vinyl version will run ya $17. Collins aims to have the album pressed to white vinyl and ready to ship out in June.

    Both pre-orders come with an immediate download of the song "were Next Door /III/," which you can stream after the jump. The tune hints at a scuzzy new direction for the once-R&B-inflected groove-pop crew.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! murk daddy flex: 'Glass Music'

    mdf genesis.jpg

    It's no secret that we at Flagpole have a little critical crush on murk daddy flex, the hip hop producer alter ego of local musician Terence Chiyezhan. His first official full-length, MDF, landed at No. 2 on our 2013 Top 10 list. We asked him to play our AthFest showcase last summer. And we got all hot and bothered when he posted a couple teaser clips from his upcoming LP, Genesis, late last year. (That's the album cover above.)

    Now, we're tickled pink to provide an exclusive premiere of the first single from Genesis—which drops sometime this summer in CD and cassette form via Pizza Tomb Records—the utterly divine "Glass Music." The dense, immersive tune is a departure from mdf's prior work in tone and focus; where before there was tape hiss and muddied jazz samples, now there is booming low end and crystal-clear treble, well-placed empty space and earth-toned organics.

    Check out the song, and the album's tracklist, after the jump.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres!: Ruby the RabbitFoot, 'The Shelf'


    Photo Credit: Lindsay Chmura

    Folks who only know local songstress Ruby Kendrick—a.k.a. Ruby the RabbitFoot—from her 2012 debut, No Weight No Chain, will no doubt be surprised by New as Dew, the songwriter's upcoming Normaltown Records release, which displays a marked degree of maturity compared to its predecessor. 

    Back in January, we shared a taste of the new album in "Ways," the record's first single and video. Now, we're happy to premiere "The Shelf," the melodic, energetic second track fromNew as Dew. The song features a trenchant lyrical turn and a killer chorus that calls to mind the best of '90s alt-pop, and serves as a prime example of Kendrick's creative metamorphosis.

    Stream it after the jump.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres!: Katër Mass, 'Brain Dead'

    kater mass.jpg

    Katër Mass is set to release Circles, the follow-up to its 2012 debut [kaht-ur mahs], later this month via Added Warmth/Pizza Tomb. The album's 11 tracks will delight fans of the sneakily melodic strain of post-hardcore that emerged from the East Coast in the mid-'90s; Katër Mass' urgent, emotionally resonant brand of punk rock has more than a little bit in common with that of genre linchpins like Hot Water Music and Rise Against. In the local band's case, it's all offset by a gleefully goofy attitude that peeks through at unexpected moments but never distracts from the mission at hand.

    After the jump, check out an exclusive stream of "Brain Dead," the first track from Circles, which was recorded by Mike Albanese at local studio Espresso Machine and mastered by sound wizard Joel Hatstat. As an added bonus for longtime Flagpole readers, the song features the (unwitting and angry) vocal talents of a certain music columnist.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Nicholas Mallis: 'Moonrise'

    nicholas mallis.jpg

    In addition to his work with locals Sam Sniper and The Viking Progress, Athens songwriter Nicholas Mallis is known for fronting the indie-folk outfit Yo Soybean, a band that dissolved late last year. Now, Mallis is striking out on his own, and offering up a taste of what folks can expect from his new project.

    After the jump, check out the exclusive premiere of the moody, melodic "Moonrise."


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres!: Four Eyes, 'Our Insides' Video

    four eyes matthew maccarthy.jpg

    Photo Credit: Matthew MacCarthy

    Erin Lovett

    Four Eyes, the Athens-based indie-pop project helmed by songwriter Erin Lovett, is gearing up to release a new album, Our Insides, which it will celebrate with a show at Flicker on Friday. The full-band record finds Lovett and company in excellent form, a leap forward from the group's twee-folk beginnings.

    Prior to the album's release, we're happy to premiere the gorgeously constructed music video for Our Insides' singalong title track. Watch it after the jump.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Party Dolls: 'I Am Not the One You Love'

    party dolls brian manley.png

    Photo Credit: Brian Manley

    Party Dolls, an Athens/Atlanta pop-rock ensemble led by The District Attorneys' Drew Beskin and also featuring area notables Tedo Stone, Jeremy Wheatley, Walker Beard and Frank Keith IV, is gearing up to release its debut LP, Love Wars Baby. The album is filled with what Beskin calls "dark, honest, therapeutic and true" songwriting, personal tales of triumph and loss.

    The record, engineered by Keith at his home studio, is out Feb. 14 via This Is American Music, but you can get a sneak peek by streaming one of its tracks, the plaintive "I Am Not the One You Love," after the jump.


Page 12 of 13, showing 10 posts out of 128 total, starting on # 111, ending on 120