Blog Topic: Flagpole Premieres

  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Musickland, a Documentary About Rocker-Turned-Farmer Adam Musick


    Adam Musick

    Last February, we hipped you to an in-progress documentary called Musickland, centered on rocker-turned-hog-farmer Adam Musick, the former frontman of Athens rock band Southern Bitch. Now, Flagpole is thrilled to premiere the finished project, courtesy of student filmmakers Cameron Bargerstock and Jacob Rosdail. 

    The 34-minute film is an incisive portrait of a very particular internal battle. It captures Adam Musick and his wife and former bandmate Wendy as they live, work and contemplate the series of events that led them from the 40 Watt stage to a farm in rural Virginia. It also documents Adam's slow but steady—and still ongoing—return to music.

    Stream Musickland below:


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Mark Rogers & Mary Byrne, I Line My Days Along Your Weight

    Mark Rogers and Mary Byrne by Shervin Lainez 2.jpg

    Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez

    Mark Rogers and Mary Byrne call New York City home these days, but the pair cut their musical teeth in Georgia—Rogers with new-folk standouts Myssouri and Byrne with eclectic rockers Hot Young Priest. The album Rogers and Byrne have just crafted as a duo, I Line My Days Along Your Weight, should establish the pair as one of the most vital acts in folk music right now.

    Recorded in Brooklyn and set for release next Tuesday, Oct. 14 via ImportantI Line My Days Along Your Weight is a striking set of sparse, evocative tunes filled with rich instrumentation—"baritone acoustic, tricone resonator, golden-­era flat top, space-­age lap steel guitar, upright piano and hundred-­year-­old mandolin," per the press release—that is unassuming even as it devastates.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Old Smokey, 'Vacant Lot' Video

    old smokey blurry.jpg

    Avant-folk group Old Smokey released a stunning sleeper of a record, Wester Easter, in April via Cloud. (Read our feature on the band here.) Now, we're happy to premiere the music video for "Vacant Lot," a taut and textural tune from the album.

    Says frontman Jim Willingham of the clip, directed by former Flagpole scribe John Britt:

    We shot it up in a quarry somewhere between Carlton and Elberton about 45 minutes north of Athens. We also used a location of an amazing vintage/antique/junk market run by our friend in Carlton. Most of the latter half of the video takes place in the owner Jimmy's fantastical sculpture garden.

    Watch below:


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Juna Announces New Album, Releases 'On Patience' Video


    Local band Juna will release a new album, the follow-up to last year'sHeteroglossia (Flagpole review), on Sept. 27 via Cohosh Records. Titled On Courage, the new album contains six tracks of sprawling, churning gloom-rock.

    Drummer Sasha Schilbrack-Cole tells Flagpole the new record was recorded by engineer Ben Wills (Family and Friends, Of the Vine) and mastered by Joel Hatstat. That's the cover art above.

    In addition to the band's established influences, the album introduces some exciting new flavors to its already complex post-rock mix. Shades of Laughing Stock-era Talk Talk, for instance, show up in the album's contemplative opener, "On Patience."

    Below, watch the video for "On Patience":


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Dog Daze Festival Compilation

    ddf comp cover.jpg

    This weekend, the Dog Daze Festival returns for a fourth year to the 40 Watt Club. On Friday and Saturday, you can catch a frighteningly good selection of local bands and a couple regional hotshots—as well as a psychedelic light show Friday and DJs both nights—for a mere $5 each evening. (Read our preview here.)

    Today, we're pleased to premiere the 2014 Dog Daze Festival Compilation, a free-to-download collection of songs from many of the groups performing at this year's DDF, including Faux Ferocious, Monsoon, DIP, Wild of Night, Timmy and the Tumblers and many others.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Don Chambers: 'Grow Back Into the Ground' Video


    Photo Credit: Jason Thrasher

    After releasing a quiet and meditative solo album, 2013's A Sudden Loss of Elevation, local songwriter Don Chambers assembled a crack backing group and got weird. Disquietude, out earlier this year, was an unwieldy collection of textured folk tunes, industrial noise pieces and other back-room experimentations.

    As a whole, it sounded a bit like a mind slowly unraveling, and the video for "Grow Back Into the Ground," which you can stream below, doesn't do much to restore confidence in Chambers' psychic fortitude. The stark, creepy clip matches up nicely with the song's haunted folk vibe.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Hot Fudge: 'Other Side of the Gates'


    Psych-rockers Hot Fudge are gearing up to celebrate the release of a damn solid debut, #1 Tapethis Friday. In advance of the release show, we're pleased as punch to premiere the album's second single, which you can stream below.

    "Other Side of the Gates" follows the pumped-up "To Be One Ask One," which you heard way back in January. Where "To Be One" was tightly wound, scuzzed-out and power-poppy, the new tune is a lovely, extended, somewhat Floydian psych jam that ends in a raucous guitar assaul


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! The New Sound of Numbers: 'New Dance' Video

    new sound of numbers.jpg

    Local psych-wave crew The New Sound of Numbers is still riding the crest of dance-punk-y joy set in motion with its 2013 album Invisible Magnetic, out on Cloud. Today, we're happy to premiere the music video for one of the record's standout tracks, the effervescent "New Dance."


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Semicircle: 'Underground River of Glass'


    Since 2010, Reptar drummer Andrew McFarland has operated on the side under the nameSemicircle, attaching the moniker to "any number of little projects and experiments I did," he says, before deciding to transform it into a sort of performance art project. Early on, McFarland brought a rotating cast of characters into the fold in hopes of maintaining a vibrant, if admittedly volatile, creative atmosphere.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Shehehe: 'Ghost Of' Video

    shehehe band photo.jpg

    Local power-punk outfit Shehehe has undergone a lineup shift since its debut, New American Jet Rock, was released in 2012. The additions of guitarist Adam Hebert and bassist Derek Wiggs have proven powerful ones: The band has only grown tighter and more furious in its rock and roll mission, and it plans to enter the studio soon to record the follow-up to the aforementioned album, which mixed low-budget arena-aping sensibilities with proto-punk passion.

    Today, we've got an exclusive look at the new video for "Ghost Of," a New American Jet Rocktrack centered lyrically on ghouls and goblins and everything in between. Appropriately, the clip offers a B-movie-esque take on the song's sordid subject matter.

    Watch the video after the jump.


Page 10 of 12, showing 10 posts out of 115 total, starting on # 91, ending on 100