Blog Topic: Flagpole Premieres

  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Juna Announces New Album, Releases 'On Patience' Video


    Local band Juna will release a new album, the follow-up to last year'sHeteroglossia (Flagpole review), on Sept. 27 via Cohosh Records. Titled On Courage, the new album contains six tracks of sprawling, churning gloom-rock.

    Drummer Sasha Schilbrack-Cole tells Flagpole the new record was recorded by engineer Ben Wills (Family and Friends, Of the Vine) and mastered by Joel Hatstat. That's the cover art above.

    In addition to the band's established influences, the album introduces some exciting new flavors to its already complex post-rock mix. Shades of Laughing Stock-era Talk Talk, for instance, show up in the album's contemplative opener, "On Patience."

    Below, watch the video for "On Patience":


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres: Dog Daze Festival Compilation

    ddf comp cover.jpg

    This weekend, the Dog Daze Festival returns for a fourth year to the 40 Watt Club. On Friday and Saturday, you can catch a frighteningly good selection of local bands and a couple regional hotshots—as well as a psychedelic light show Friday and DJs both nights—for a mere $5 each evening. (Read our preview here.)

    Today, we're pleased to premiere the 2014 Dog Daze Festival Compilation, a free-to-download collection of songs from many of the groups performing at this year's DDF, including Faux Ferocious, Monsoon, DIP, Wild of Night, Timmy and the Tumblers and many others.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Don Chambers: 'Grow Back Into the Ground' Video


    Photo Credit: Jason Thrasher

    After releasing a quiet and meditative solo album, 2013's A Sudden Loss of Elevation, local songwriter Don Chambers assembled a crack backing group and got weird. Disquietude, out earlier this year, was an unwieldy collection of textured folk tunes, industrial noise pieces and other back-room experimentations.

    As a whole, it sounded a bit like a mind slowly unraveling, and the video for "Grow Back Into the Ground," which you can stream below, doesn't do much to restore confidence in Chambers' psychic fortitude. The stark, creepy clip matches up nicely with the song's haunted folk vibe.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Hot Fudge: 'Other Side of the Gates'


    Psych-rockers Hot Fudge are gearing up to celebrate the release of a damn solid debut, #1 Tapethis Friday. In advance of the release show, we're pleased as punch to premiere the album's second single, which you can stream below.

    "Other Side of the Gates" follows the pumped-up "To Be One Ask One," which you heard way back in January. Where "To Be One" was tightly wound, scuzzed-out and power-poppy, the new tune is a lovely, extended, somewhat Floydian psych jam that ends in a raucous guitar assaul


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! The New Sound of Numbers: 'New Dance' Video

    new sound of numbers.jpg

    Local psych-wave crew The New Sound of Numbers is still riding the crest of dance-punk-y joy set in motion with its 2013 album Invisible Magnetic, out on Cloud. Today, we're happy to premiere the music video for one of the record's standout tracks, the effervescent "New Dance."


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Semicircle: 'Underground River of Glass'


    Since 2010, Reptar drummer Andrew McFarland has operated on the side under the nameSemicircle, attaching the moniker to "any number of little projects and experiments I did," he says, before deciding to transform it into a sort of performance art project. Early on, McFarland brought a rotating cast of characters into the fold in hopes of maintaining a vibrant, if admittedly volatile, creative atmosphere.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! Shehehe: 'Ghost Of' Video

    shehehe band photo.jpg

    Local power-punk outfit Shehehe has undergone a lineup shift since its debut, New American Jet Rock, was released in 2012. The additions of guitarist Adam Hebert and bassist Derek Wiggs have proven powerful ones: The band has only grown tighter and more furious in its rock and roll mission, and it plans to enter the studio soon to record the follow-up to the aforementioned album, which mixed low-budget arena-aping sensibilities with proto-punk passion.

    Today, we've got an exclusive look at the new video for "Ghost Of," a New American Jet Rocktrack centered lyrically on ghouls and goblins and everything in between. Appropriately, the clip offers a B-movie-esque take on the song's sordid subject matter.

    Watch the video after the jump.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! k i d s: 'were Next Door /III/'

    take forever.jpg

    Local psych-pop crew k i d s, the brainchild of songwriter K. Jared Collins, has been largely inactive for the past several months, but as it turns out, Collins and his rotating supporting cast have just been busy prepping a brand-new album—the looooong-awaited follow-up to last year's live LP are US—appropriately titled Take Forever. Peep the flowery cover art above. The record will be out digitally May 15, but the band is taking pre-orders now via Bandcamp.

    The cassette version of Take Forever costs $7; the vinyl version will run ya $17. Collins aims to have the album pressed to white vinyl and ready to ship out in June.

    Both pre-orders come with an immediate download of the song "were Next Door /III/," which you can stream after the jump. The tune hints at a scuzzy new direction for the once-R&B-inflected groove-pop crew.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres! murk daddy flex: 'Glass Music'

    mdf genesis.jpg

    It's no secret that we at Flagpole have a little critical crush on murk daddy flex, the hip hop producer alter ego of local musician Terence Chiyezhan. His first official full-length, MDF, landed at No. 2 on our 2013 Top 10 list. We asked him to play our AthFest showcase last summer. And we got all hot and bothered when he posted a couple teaser clips from his upcoming LP, Genesis, late last year. (That's the album cover above.)

    Now, we're tickled pink to provide an exclusive premiere of the first single from Genesis—which drops sometime this summer in CD and cassette form via Pizza Tomb Records—the utterly divine "Glass Music." The dense, immersive tune is a departure from mdf's prior work in tone and focus; where before there was tape hiss and muddied jazz samples, now there is booming low end and crystal-clear treble, well-placed empty space and earth-toned organics.

    Check out the song, and the album's tracklist, after the jump.


  • Homedrone: Flagpole Premieres!: Ruby the RabbitFoot, 'The Shelf'


    Photo Credit: Lindsay Chmura

    Folks who only know local songstress Ruby Kendrick—a.k.a. Ruby the RabbitFoot—from her 2012 debut, No Weight No Chain, will no doubt be surprised by New as Dew, the songwriter's upcoming Normaltown Records release, which displays a marked degree of maturity compared to its predecessor. 

    Back in January, we shared a taste of the new album in "Ways," the record's first single and video. Now, we're happy to premiere "The Shelf," the melodic, energetic second track fromNew as Dew. The song features a trenchant lyrical turn and a killer chorus that calls to mind the best of '90s alt-pop, and serves as a prime example of Kendrick's creative metamorphosis.

    Stream it after the jump.


Page 7 of 9, showing 10 posts out of 82 total, starting on # 61, ending on 70