• Marc Maron Interviews David Lowery on 'WTF'


    Photo Credit: Jason Thrasher

    If you’re a regular listener of Marc Maron’s WTF Podcast, you know the acerbic funnyman is quite the vinyl record collector. Those tuning in to the show's latest installment learned that Maron is also quite the fan of Athenian and MBUS lecturer David Lowery, he of Camper Van Beethoven and Cracker fame.

    On the latest episode of Maron’s podcast, Lowery says his experience teaching in UGA’s music business program has inspired him to pursue a doctorate in higher education. Unsurprisingly, the conversation turns to Lowery’s sustained critique of file-sharing and the pitfalls of digital music royalties for artists.


  • Flagpole Premieres: Powerkompany, 'Mermaid (Sunlight)' Video

    pk wall.jpg

    Local hubby-and-wife electro-pop duo Powerkompany haven't released a proper album since dropping the bold and moody I Am More Than This in May 2013, but that doesn't mean the pair haven't stayed busy touring, writing, recording and, most recently, making music videos.

    This summer, they released a lovely clip for I Am More Than This' "Lost," and today Flagpole is happy to premiere the comparatively creepy video (Halloween, y'all!) for that record's closer, "Mermaid (Sunlight)".


  • Video: Versatyle tha Wildchyld, Past and Present


    Photo Credit: Randy Schafer

    Watch part one here.

    Anthony Little, aka Versatyle tha Wildchyld, likes to keep things close. "I stick with my family," Little says. "The people that I trust… At the end of the day, I'm going to stay that way." 

    Part two of this three-part series explores Little's formative years until present day, starting with how he met local hip hop aficionado Montu Miller, one of the founding members of entertainment and social group Dreaded Mindz, now known formally as AthFactor Entertainment. Little also talks about more recent ventures, like creating his Georgia Bulldogs anthem, "Southern Flavor," produced by McClure Entertainment Group in September 2013.  


  • Live Review/Photos: Yonder Mountain String Band at Georgia Theatre


    Saturday, Yonder Mountain String Band returned to the Georgia Theatre, accompanied by the Larry Keel Experience. “Its good to be back in Athens, Greece! bassist Ben Kaufmann joked as his bandmates readied themselves to play. 

    Every time I see a bluegrass band perform live, I am amazed by the skill needed to make such complicated and lightning-fast music. Yonder is a cut above the rest, playing something in between jam and bluegrass. The band makes jamming look effortless; guitar, mandolin, banjo and bass are combined to create an intricate tapestry of sound. All four members have an active vocal role in the music, each bringing a different voice and tone to the table.


  • Stream a New T. Hardy Morris Tune


    Dead Confederate frontman T. Hardy Morris, he of Flagpole's favorite local album of 2013, has debuted a new single titled "Painted On Attitude" in advance of a November tour that will find the songwriter traveling up the Eastern seaboard and into Ohio. 

    "Painted On Attitude" is billed as a shift in Morris' sonic approach, and it does feel like a departure, taking the subdued grunge-folk of Audition Tapes and piling on pedal steel and punk fuzz. 


  • Flagpole Premieres: Scooterbabe, 'Know That I Don't Want You'


    Photo Credit: Anna Pence

    Though it has played steadily around town for the last couple years and gained a respectable local fanbase in the process, indie-pop trio Scooterbabe has but one EP to its name, a self-titled, five-track effort released last November.

    Now, the band is set to drop the follow-up, again in EP form. The new one is (yes, that is the name of the damn thing) and is out Oct. 28 digitally and in the near future on cassette via Pizza Tomb.

    The four-song record finds the band honing the C86-inspired sound it has put forth since the beginning. For fans of noisy, navel-gazing jangle-pop, it's a must-listen. Flagpole's Gordon Lamb is blunt in his assessment: "No one in Athens has played well-crafted, distortion-free pop of this type and caliber in a very long time."

    More below.


  • Q&A With Neal Casal of Chris Robinson Brotherhood, Playing Georgia Theatre Thursday


    Photo Credit: Matthew Mendenhall

    Chris Robinson Brotherhood

    You're apt to be familiar with at least one project Neal Casal has been involved with over the past decade or so. At the moment, he’s taken up lead guitar duties for the Chris Robinson Brotherhood, who play the Georgia Theatre Thursday, Oct. 23Flagpole caught up with Casal to discuss what it’s like to be asked to play in high-profile bands and the similarities of working in different media.


  • Flagpole Premieres: Hand Sand Hands, 'Pores' Video

    good luck cover.jpg

    We've been fans of local experimental rhythmsmith Jonathan Miller and his Hand Sand Hands project since Miller emigrated from the Twin Cities to Athens in 2012. Attendees at this summer's Flagpole Athens Music Awards got a taste of HSH's upcoming album, Good Luck With That, which now has a release date: Nov. 11, when you can grab the album on cassette via Arrowhawk and digitally via Autumn + Colour.

    The album—there's the cover art above—features contributions from bassist Taylor Chmura and drummer Chase Merritt (both of Little Gold), who lend the music a live, full-band feel, though it loses none of HSH's sample-based strangeness.

    Below, check out a video for "Pores," the record's strong lead single, filmed by the increasingly in-demand Dominar, LTD.


Page 1 of 115, showing 8 posts out of 914 total, starting on # 1, ending on 8

< previous123456789